Mother still knows best

I always said mom was like Ivory soap. Just like Ivory soap was 99.44% pure, so mom was 99.44% right a majority of the time.

It’s never comfortable to talk to a parent about burial options but about a year or so after mom moved here, she said she wanted to buried here. Of course I said, “Mom, you’re not going anywhere anytime soon.”

She pursued the discussion. My next reaction was, “You don’t want to buried next to daddy and nana?”

My father and grandmother are buried in Florida where there’s a three-person family plot. Mom’s is between the two.

Mom clearly told me she wanted to be buried here because she wants to be visited! If she was buried in Florida, how often would I or anyone else visit her, she asked.

And, she had a point.

Many a time I visited mom in Florida, we didn’t always go to the cemetery because frankly, it was a trek and a pain to get to with all the traffic. I often felt badly that I didn’t go, but that still didn’t diminish how much I missed my dad and grandmother or my love for them.

About a year and a half later, T. called me after one of mom’s visits. He mentioned that mom is very adamant about wanting to be buried where she now lives. I told T. that I would talk to her about it.

And I did. And I made all the arrangements last year. And I am so glad I did.

I’ve wanted to visit her grave since the end Shloshim, the official one-month Jewish mourning period. Yesterday would have been the perfect day – the two-month anniversary of her death. I didn’t. But I will soon.

I am so thankful to have the option to visit her anytime I want.

Once again, mom knew best. Once again, thanks mom!

2 thoughts on “Mother still knows best

Leave a Reply

