Loss and Remembrance

I just read a beautiful post about the late columnist and book author Jeff Zaslow by one of his daughters.

Jeff, who had gone on to become a New York Times best-selling author, had become one of my favorite columnists since I began reading his work in the Wall Street Journal.

He and I became “virtual” friends through our email exchanges, since I first contacted him about his story on Randy Pausch that ran in the WSJ. He graciously responded to me because that’s what he did. That article went on to become the best-selling book, “The Last Lecture.” He even contacted me asking if I’d be willing to speak with a TV producer who was doing a piece on how “The Last Lecture” touched them.

My daughter L., knew how much I loved Jeff’s writing and him as a person, which is why she didn’t tell me about his untimely death — the same day as my mother’s — until the following day.

I was shocked. I just kept repeating to her, “Oh  my G-d, oh my G-d,” several times.

It’s now been almost two months since my mom’s and Jeff’s passing. Every now and then I will check his Facebook page to read any new posts. The most touching are those by his three daughters. Because my pain and loss in losing  my mother is just so great,  I just can’t help but imagine the pain and loss they must feel. They write such beautiful and touching posts that it’s hard not to see the intense love they had for one another, and their loss.

And then I think back to what T., wrote to me: “Nothing dies that is remembered.” Truer words were never spoken.

 

Leave a Reply

