Two steps forward, three steps back

What a night/morning mom and I had. I know I’m not alone when I sometimes feel I just can’t get a break.

Just as things were falling nicely in place with mom acclimating to Assisted Living, I get a call last night about 8 pm asking me to take her to the ER. She was having trouble breathing and her lung capacity was only at 72%.

Is Assisted Living cursed?

I knew mom wasn’t feeling well. She mentioned over the weekend that she felt like she was coming down with a cold. Then, when I stopped by on my way home from work Monday night she was in bed, didn’t go to dinner, didn’t feel like eating and had two breathing treatments that day.

I, too, came down with a cold and was in bed when I got the call. I got dressed and rushed over to mom’s. They had her on oxygen and lugged the oxygen tank with us. Hearing her wheeze was painful for me to listen to.

Once at the hospital things went pretty smoothly except that they couldn’t find her medical records in their system; she was just there in September! And, the order for the CT Scan didn’t go through so the test was delayed by an hour. It was 11:30 pm already. But thankfully, all her tests came out fine. Mom wound up having a case of bronchitis.

Long story short, mom got to her room on the Progressive Care Unit floor at 2 a.m.; I got home at 3.

I wound up staying with her today in the hospital just to make sure things went smoothly with her care. Fortunately or unfortunately, however you look at it, I’ve had too much experience with hospital stays and know how important it is for the patient to have an advocate there for them. Case in point, I was able to have them start mom on Detrol for frequent urination. This is a new med Dr. K. just prescribed. Mom was having to go to the bathroom about every hour and was getting tired of getting up and down while being hooked up to oxygen and her IV. Something small like that can go a long way in her patient experience. I must say I am very impressed with the quality of the ER staff and her floor staff. The ER doctor even remembered mom from her hospital stay last summer for pneumonia.

We’re looking at a two to three-day hospital stay and hoping to have her discharged by Thursday. I spoke to the doctor about having her discharged to her apartment with home health care rather than go back to rehab, but naturally said that wherever they think is best for her is what I’ll defer to.

We all just want to get back on track and keep moving forward.

Leave a Reply

