When did this happen? Happy, sweet 30th birthday to my girls!

I remember it like it was yesterday. I even remember the song playing on the radio en route to the hospital – Supertramp’s “It’s Raining Again.”

Where has the time gone? I can’t believe my babies L. & D., turn 30 today! Yes, they are twins. No, they are not identical.

It was 30 years ago that M. and I played our last board game of Risk.  I’ve always been a fairly competitive person but as I’ve gotten older I’ve mellowed a bit. At any rate, that Nov. 30 evening as I leaned forward to move my armies I started to bleed. Three months earlier while visiting  my parents in Florida, I was diagnosed with placenta previa. This is not uncommon in multiple births where the placenta gets in front of the baby and you can’t deliver the placenta before the baby. At 5’1″, there was not a lot room so it was pretty cramped in there.

Called the doctor and called the neighbors to watch our 2-year-old. I was sure I would be home later that evening. Wrong.

Following an emergency C-section, LYC and DBC were born at 1:59 a.m. and 2:01, respectively, on Dec. 1, 1981. They were five weeks early and weighed 4 lbs. 7 oz. and 3 lbs. 12 oz. From my study of monkeys in college (I wanted to be a primatologist), it was only fitting that one of the babies, D., still had that dark little fur-like hair on her shoulders.

After time in NICU and then graduating to the regular nursery, L. came home after two weeks, followed by D. a week later.

It’s been a wonderful and unique journey that we’ve all been on and look forward to the future for more wonderful times.

L. and D., we are so proud of the young women you have become, in addition to both being NYC Marathon Runners! Love You!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

